The Plan or Non-Plan

As I may have mentioned in previous blog posts, I have made some serious personal decisions regarding my relationship with Tamoxifen. Ideally, I should commit to 5 years, but realistically I have decided on less.

A few weeks ago, I nervously met with my oncologist to discuss my official plan. I was bracing myself for frowns and/or words that I did not want to hear. Instead I was not only met with the full support of my decision, but complete understanding of the reasoning behind it. Once again, I was reaffirmed of how happy I am with the doctors that I chose to take care of me! Of course, my oncologist reviewed all the risks and statistics with me about my decision. The additional risk for me is really so minimal. When I say “risks”, I really mean the statistics that try to predict the likelihood of a reoccurrence for me. According to different test scores and the overall characteristics of my cancer, chemo was more beneficial to me than the Tamoxifen.

I am not disclosing my full plan on this blog. I have shared the specifics with a few individuals that are close to me (of course the husband, my BFF’s and mom), but I don’t want people constantly wondering or asking me if I’m pregnant yet. It is bad enough that strangers/acquaintances already ask me why I don’t have kids or what I’m waiting for (yes, people say this!).

I have set a date for when I will stop Tamoxifen. It is recommended that I wait 6 months after I stop Tamoxifen to try and start a family. And I still have to talk to my OB/GYN about removing this IUD (do I wait until after the 6 months are over?). So, know this – even if I stopped Tamoxifen tomorrow, I’d still have to wait a while.

The best part about all of this is that I feel really confident in the decisions that I made and the course that we have set. I am learning patience. I know that there may be many more obstacles once I go off of Tamoxifen (mainly revolving around fertility/infertility), but for now, its just one step at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Plan or Non-Plan

  1. Mandi says:

    One step at a time is right and ultimately you need to do what is best for you! I wish you the best on this new path. 🙂

    • Alexis says:

      Thanks for the encouragement Mandi. I have been following your updates on your blog, but have not been able to comment. I am hoping that you too train yourself to be patient & optimistic as you try to figure everything out 🙂

  2. Patti and Mike McGillen says:

    This is happy news!! You know yourself and your body better than anybody, and I know that you are VERY good and watching the signals and listening to them. We will anxiously await further news, as soon as you are ready to tell us!! Hoping for the best and sending lots of love and prayers your way!!!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

