2 Years Out!

Where has the time gone?  I have not posted much here recently because, honestly, I’ve just been living a “normal” life.

July 18, 2011 – Last radiation treatment.  2 whole years ago.

July 18, 2013 – I think this counts as one of my “cancerversaries” or “survivorersaries.” (I honestly have no idea how you spell those made up words).  The point is, I’ve crossed another milestone, celebrated another year and have just been going along doing typical Alexis things.  My marriage is solid, my friendships and family relationships are strong and I wake each morning feeling excited and encouraged about the future.  Really, what more could one ask for?  I didn’t plan it purposely, but today I am in Cape Cod with my husband, parents, uncle, cousin and her kids and my aunt who is also a BC survivor.  What a great way to celebrate my anniversary – surrounded by my loved ones in a beautiful location!

July 19, 2014 – The day that I will hopefully have the courage to follow through on.  No more tamoxifen!?!?  My ob/gyn and surgeon know about my intentions.  But I have yet to inform my oncologist.  I’m kinda scared – I haven’t even hinted to him about my thoughts.  I’m not sure if I’ll have the courage to tell him at my August appointment or not.  I might have to practice my speech.  I try not to think about the risks of this decision and instead I am seriously focusing on the positives when I’m free from tamoxifen.

I honestly don’t have too many health updates or concerns.  I’m really just trying to keep active and focus on having fun.  I ran three races this spring and really surprised myself with each one.  My husband and I ran the Cherry Blossom 10 miler with other family members in early April.  We both cut off about 3 minutes from our previous year’s race time.  In early May, I ran another half-marathon and cut off about 10 minutes from my previous half-marathon!  I also joined a new gym in early May and was the first woman finisher in my gym’s 5k with a time of 25:25.  These running accomplishments have definitely made me appreciate my ‘bad/slow’ runs.

It has also been quite a while since I’ve crossed anything off of my “Life List.”  With the assistance of my husband, I finally dusted off my mountain bike, filled the tires up with air and have been cruising around like a little kid.  I forgot how much fun biking is.  And I love when you can do something for fun and also count it as a workout.

Well, now that the bike is up and running, I’m trying to replace some of my running miles with biking miles.  My husband has recently taken ownership of his grandfather’s bike (imported from Detroit).  His bike is a heavy duty workman’s bike, but it looks so cool.  The large basket on his bike fits a pretty good sized cooler – so our biking adventures have also incorporated some pretty scenic and cool picnics.  And we have quite a few more fun adventures planned for this summer!  And yes, our bikes have traveled out to Cape Cod with us.

Basically, I’m happy to be happy and living life!

Picture from a June biking and picnic adventure in Chesapeake City, MD.

Picture from a June biking and picnic adventure in Chesapeake City, MD.

Random info – Every time I think about being done with breast cancer, I bust out singing (in my head) Beyonce’s “I’m a Survivor”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2 Years Out!

  1. Congratulations on your cancerversary – may you continue to heal and thrive

  2. Patti and Mike McGillen says:

    A GREAT MILESTONE TO MARK!! I love to read your posts!! You always inspire me to celebrate the good things that are happening in my life!!

    • Alexis says:

      Thanks Aunt Patti! As always, I love and truly appreciate all the support you extend from afar. This experience has forever changed me. There’s still some rough days – which I’m not sure anyone who hasn’t been in my shoes can really ‘understand’ it. Just celebrate the good & learn from the bad.

  3. Mandi says:

    Nothing wrong with busting out some Beyonce! Yay for biking adventures!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

