The Blog Post that Never Got Posted…

I write and then I schedule.  So, I might write something and have it automatically set to post on a certain day/time.  This post was scheduled (or so I thought) for April 13th, so it might seem a little off now.  However, I still thought I would share this since there’s still a few relevant days left.

#PlasticSucks

I came across a challenge leading up to Earth Day.  The challenge asks that you go plastic free for an entire week (April 14 – April 20).  There are 6 total steps to the challenge and you can read more about it here.

Given the toxicity of plastic, I think this is a great idea and it also benefits the earth/our environment.  However, as I tweeted last week, OMG plastic is in EVERYTHING.  So, I couldn’t sleep the other night and instead I mentally reviewed my daily plastic ‘consumption’ given an average day.  Here is what I think it involves:

1. Wake up around 6AM.  Brush teeth with a toothebrush made out of plastic (I’m assuming) and squeeze my toothepaste out of a tube with some plastic packaging.  Wow, I’m off to a great start!

2. Walk my dog.  Unlike some of the people in our neighborhood, we actually pick up our dog’s poop.  And what do we use to pick it up?  A plastic bag.  If anyone can offer alternatives, I’m all ears.

3. Come back from walking the dog and pour myself a cup of coffee.  The coffee grinds come packaged in plastic.  Add some milk to my coffee from a plastic milk jug.

4.  Jump in the shower.  On a typical day, I use shampoo, conditioner, face wash and body wash.  All of these products are packaged in plastic.  After the shower, there’s face lotion and body lotion – again packaged in plastic.  Wow, it is about 7AM and look how much plastic I’ve used.

5.  Get dressed.  Most likely the buttons on my pants and/or sweater are made of plastic.  Same if I’m wearing a jacket.

6.  Grab lunch bag.  Usually, there a plastic tupperware container housing my salad for lunch.  I have been meaning to switch my tupperware to glass containers.  However, even the glass containers have plastic lids!  Sometimes, I might have yogurt for breakfast – which comes in a plastic cup/container.  If I happen to grab a granola bar – woah, more plastic wrappers!  Hmmm…

7.  Drive to work.  I’m pretty sure that there is a lot of plastic in my car.  I just don’t want to analyze it all.  Even if I could ride my bike to work, wouldn’t my bike helmut be made from some sort of plastic material?  As you can see, I am making a lot of assumptions regarding the composite makeup of these items/products.  Further analysis might reveal that I’m way off, but I don’t have time for that!

8. Arrive at work around 8:30 AM.  Looking at my work desk, I am fairly confident that not too much plasic is in use.  Perhaps the tape dispenser and my phone are of plastic material?  Oh and I do have some binders, file folder holders and maybe the outer material of my computer is plastic?

9.  Work, work, work – all day long.  I’m sure that there are countless items that I use or come into contact with during a normal work that contain plastic.  For example, when I wash my hands after using the restroom, I pretty certain that the soap comes out of a plastic soap dispenser.  Some of my paper clips are plastic and not metal.

10. Work out after work!  If I’m taking my workout indoors, it might involve using a treadmill, stationary bike, elliptical, free weights, circuit weight machines, bosu ball, etc.  Plastic, plastic, plastic!

Okay, I have basically gone through my daily agenda from 6am until 7pm.  I am not going any further because clearly I have come into contact and used way too much plastic.  And I’m sure I am missing quite a few items.  So, I’m confused about how to go about a challenge like this and weigh the plastic I used?  I  plan to look up the hastag #plasticsucks on Twitter and see how others are approaching this challenge.  Has anyone else attempted to cut back on plastics?  Also, I’m serious about the question I posed in point #2…

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blog Post that Never Got Posted…

  1. healthiestbeauty says:

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

  2. L Ayson says:

    SUPERB post! It really is crazy when we look at an average day and are mindful of the plastics and chemicals we come into contact with, isn’t it? As you’ve shown by your 1 day listing, it seems harder to step away from plastics than it is to go with the status quo. We don’t have a dog, but I’ve heard of BioBags…which are compostable and biodegradable…but I haven’t researched them 100%. (http://www.biobagusa.com/) It’s great that you’re looking into these things and sharing what you discover and change with others. Keep up the knowledge transfer! I hope to share some soon, too. 🙂

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

