Beating the Blahs

I’ve been feeling blah for quite a while (months?).  Not a sad type of blah, just a lethargic, tired and unmotivated type of blah.  So, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about how I can “beat this blah” feeling.  I’m hoping part of the “blah” might be attributed to the lack of daylight.  But I’ve also been thinking about GOALS!  I need new goals (and not to-do lists).  I used to use the time in late December/early January to access the year and make some new goals.  I did not do that this year.  Also, related to these goals is sugar consumption.  My sugar consumption has increased substantiantially been out of control which I know is only contributing to this blah feeling.  Addressing this issue can certainly be tied in to my new goals.

Since March is only a few days away (gah), I’ve decided to start fresh with the new month and am creating my own kind of March Madness to focus on myself!  My husband and I have had some pretty intense discussions lately about our future goals which in turn made me think about what some of my own personal goals are.  Sometimes thinking too far into the future stresses me out.  Why not just start with one month?  Here’s how I’d like to focus on Alexis in March…

  • Create something new!  Are you on Pinterest?  I am, but I need to Pin less and do more.  I have so many things I want to try and I’m determined to do one new project (craft, new recipe, etc) in March.  Crafting and cooking are actually 2 of my favorite destressing activities.  I don’t want to spoil the surprise, but I have a few project ideas in mind.
  • Drink more veggie juice!  I did this every day for 9+ months.  And now, I can barely bring myself to do it once a week.  Our commercial grade juicer is just taking up space on our counter (which I know drives my husband crazy).  I think my goal will be at least 3 times a week during the month of March and then I’ll reaccess at month’s end.
  • Read.  Turn off the Law and Order reruns and immerse myself in a book each night (even if its just for 10 minutes).
  • Decrease my sugar consumption.  We ALWAYS have candy in the office, so I know this will be the biggest battle.  Prior to chemo, I never really had a sweet tooth.  Now, sweets are literally consumed on a daily basis.  I’m sure that cutting back (whoa, I’m not ready to go cold turkey again) will definitely help with my energy levels.

Daylight Savings Time begins on March 10 and Spring begins on March 20 – hoping these two March events will also help spark some of my creativity and increase my energy levels!

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beating the Blahs

  1. Ryan says:

    I really like the reading one. I’ve been trying to do this more (and I already read alot). There’s one of two ways I attack a book.

    1. I try for a book a week. In order to do that, I divide the page numbers by 7. I need to read that many pages in a day. The next day, I divide the remaining pages by 6, then 5, and so on. I rarely make the 7 day goal, but it helps to have a smaller bite sized reading goal.

    2. If that’s too much, take 10 minutes twice a day to read 5-7 pages of your book. Then, before bed, read a chapter or 15 pages, which ever comes first.

    A second tip. Graphic Novels are great for feeling like an accomplished reader. I’ve read 4 books this past 2 weeks, but 3 were graphic novels. They have just as much substance as regular books, but pictures as well, so they are quicker to read through. If you like Law + Order coupled with Fairy Tales, check out Fables. It’s a really cool ongoing series about all the fairy tale characters living in New York City and adjusting to real life. Kristen really enjoys it.

    • Alexis says:

      Thanks for the suggestions Ryan! My goal is more of a “turn off the TV and engage my mind” than a “read x amount of pages” goal. I never considered or encountered graphic novels – do travel books count 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Heck, yeah, travel books should count! That’s a triple-hitter in a way…planning for the future, researching, and reading! 🙂 Right?

  3. Mandi says:

    I too have had a case of the blahs. I have been exercising and eating well and BLAH. We are starting to see more and more sunshine. Goals help too!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

