Family of Three

Before we got married, we had discussed our future plans in-depth and we both agreed that we didn’t want to rush into starting a family.  I don’t know why, but I had this random number in my head that I didn’t want to have kids before I was 30 years old.  Well, on May 1, 2010 – I turned 30 and I was about 9 months away from finishing grad school.  I thought for sure that Brian and I were finally ready.  Then crap hit the fan in November 2010.  When I was first diagnosed with breast cancer, I had a hard time dealing with the fact that Brian and I had to put our family plans on hold.  But at least we had our Jessie dog.

Then, about 2 months after I finished all of my cancer treatments, we had to say goodbye to Jessie.  It took us a long time to get over that loss.  I can honestly say that losing Jessie may have been as hard as facing breast cancer itself.

I’m a dog person and I don’t think I could have married a man who wasn’t, so over the past year Brian and I have had many conversations about when we would add to our family again.  Now that our fun summer is over and it is about a year since we lost Jessie, we felt we were finally ready to invite another furry friend into our house and expand our family!

Last Saturday, just days after returning from vacation we headed out to the animal shelter to begin our search.  It didn’t take long for us to fall in love and we returned home with another little beagle.

Meet our new baby, Miss Maggy! Even though she jumps on the couch, we still love her!

I’ll admit that I went to the shelter knowing that I really wanted another beagle.  Bri was okay with just seeing what dogs needed homes.  Maggy is similar to Jessie in some ways, but she definitely has her own personality.  Jessie was probably a little bit older than we thought when we adopted her and she LOVED to sleep.  She was sweet, well-behaved and not an overly playful dog.  She also didn’t bark or howl unless we prompted her with a treat.  Maggy also likes to sleep, but she is much more playful and vocal than Jessie.  She also likes to sleep  on our couch, ugh!  We will have to work on breaking that habit.

Maggy seems to be adjusting well to her new home and we’re so happy to once again have a doggie running around the house.

We need to get used to having a playful dog in our house!

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family of Three

  1. Aunt Pati says:

    She is really very cute!! I can’t wait to meet her!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

