Thankful

Most of my family and friends know that I go to bed early and so I rarely receive phone calls after 9pm.  Well, a few weeks ago I was woken up by my cell phone buzzing after 10pm and saw that it was my mom calling.  I answered only because I knew she would be calling for a reason.  She had some sad news about a family member who has just been down on their luck for a while now.  It seems that this family member is continually being knocked down (thankfully, it’s not health related bad news).  This phone conversation had both my mom and I in tears as we just could not grasp why my family keeps being dealt these blows.  My mom was also rambling on and on about my “illness”, how “sick” I was and how she felt so horrible that she couldn’t handle accompanying me to my chemo treatments.  A lil side note:  I never felt “ill” or “sick”, but I let my mom have her moment and unload on me.

I hung up with my mom and immediately went downstairs to cry my eyes out to my husband.  I was also just so confused as to why bad things happen to good people.  A few days prior, I was frantic because I couldn’t find our stamps.  We rarely send mail unless it is cards.  I didn’t tell my husband at the time, but I needed a stamp because I felt compelled to send a note to someone I’ve never met who lives across the country.  It is too long of a story to go into how I “know” this person or even their address, but this was just another example of a good person being dealt a bad hand and I wanted to reach out to let him know that I was rooting for him from thousands of miles away.  Similarly, I have a dear friend who has endured a lot over the past year and I have often felt mad about everything she was going through.  I think that phone conversation with my mom just put me over the edge and I was feeling exhausted and frustrated.

I know that if life was perfect, it would also be boring.  Reaching rock bottom forces us all to be humble and thankful for the good stuff.  I feel exceptionally thankful and fortunate for a blissful 10 days that I just spent with my husband.  Our vacation was our reward to ourselves for enduring a rough patch in life.  It was a well deserved reward.  Our vacation happened to have wrapped around our wedding anniversary.  What could be better than celebrating our special day in paradise?  I remember sitting next to Brian one night and just talking about how blessed we are.  We have a wonderful bond with each other, decent jobs (and health insurance!), our health and most importantly family and friends that are just awesome good people!   Despite grad school stress, cancer, a small house fire/basement flood, the unexpected passing of our dog and all the other challenges that have come our way over the past few years, I do not think I have ever felt more grateful or appreciative in my life!

I might do another post to re-cap all of the fun we had on our vacation.  But for now, here are a few of my favorite pictures!

Trunk Bay on island of St.John…This was my favorite beach!

Check out my hair – it is growing fast!

Our anniversary celebration was a sail and snorkel tour aboard Simplicity! We especially enjoyed the furry four legged crew member – Hinckley!

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful

  1. T-Bone says:

    Pretty dress Mrs. Milam!

  2. Laura says:

    What a wonderful post, Alexis. It’s so great to find reasons to be thankful…even in the midst of life’s challenges. So good you can do that! (BTW: also loved your post on healthy changes – and hope to write several posts that’ll springboard off yours. Great idea and wonderful to share with others and get even more information sharing that way!)

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

