Cherry Blossom Run – Race Report

So, I’m not sure what direction this blog is taking.  I’m done with breast cancer.  It used to be the first thing I thought about in the morning and the last thing I had on my mind before bed.  Now, it all seems like a distant memory.  And I haven’t been posting on here because I haven’t had much to say about the topic (no news is good news right).  So, do I continue and just write about the stupid/normal stuff I do?  Do people really want to read that?  Well in case you do, here’s my way over due race report.

I have really only run a handful of races, but this was by far my favorite race so far.  There are 3 main reasons:

  1. I ran the race with a group of other family members.  Support systems work and it was fun to motivate each other!
  2. The distance was long enough to challenge me and force me to train, but not too far that I lost interest in training.
  3. Location, location, location.  What better way to see D.C. (or any city) than on foot.

Overall, it was a very well-organized and fun race.  The weather cooperated and it was perfect running weather (overcast and about 50 degrees).  We stayed overnight with family in Arlington Saturday night, had a fun pre-race pizza party, visited for a while and then woke up bright and early to metro in to the city.  Upon arriving at the race start, I only had enough time to wait in line for the porta potties.  I did not have time to stretch.  In retrospect, I very well could have stretched while waiting in line, thereby killing two birds with 1 stone.  Why didn’t I think of that on race day?  Anyway, I finished my business and had just enough time to make it to my starting wave.

I actually think that I was in the wrong wave (too slow).  I spent the first 3 or 4 miles just passing people and my race stats show that I also passed 1,200 + runners in the 2nd half.  Overall, I was very happy with my time (1:30:23) – averaging about 9:03 minute miles.  Most of my training runs were around this pace, so I was pleased….Buuuut, I also thought that maybe my race pace should have been faster than my training runs.  Oh well, it was really really hard to run with so many other runners – I spent way too much time just zig zagging around people.

I have to give a huge thanks to one of my BFF’s (yup I said BFF) Amy!  Shortly after mile 9, I saw Amy and her husband Steve holding up huge neon signs and cheering for me.  Once we made eye contact, Amy jumped in the race in her jeans and zip up fleece and ran the last 1/2 mile or so with me (people probably thought that she was crazy because she crossed the finish line in jeans).  I think she said all these mushy motivational words to me, but I was seriously dying at this point so I think I just kept asking her how much farther I had to go.  Thanks again Amy!

Our family team - flexing and showing how strong we all are!

 

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherry Blossom Run – Race Report

  1. Courtney says:

    i also saw that you came across the finish line with your arms up 🙂
    i agree that the pacing of my corral was too slow. did other people lie on their entry form?? i thought it felt more like a “run” than a “race”— but that has value, too. how did you figure out how many runners you passed?

  2. amyreinink says:

    Aww! I’m saying “BFF” back atcha! It was so much fun getting to run with you toward your victorious finish—even at your “seriously dying” point, you looked good and strong!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

