Cherry Blossom Race Day Goals

Sorry fellow runners, I am secretly happy that the cherry blossoms won’t be in full bloom on April 1st.  I have never intentionally visited DC during the cherry blossom season for one major reason – my allergies.  So, I’m hoping that they cooperate on race day so I can get through my run without a drippy nose or teary eyes.  And, hopefully my stomach and bladder will cooperate too.

Despite life’s craziness, Bri and I have had some good training runs lately.  He wanted to do another 10 miler this past weekend.  I didn’t think it was necessary, but I tagged along for 9 miles.  My legs felt like bricks and I just could not squeeze out another mile.  I’m a wimp.  So, here’s a few goals for race day:

1. Beat Bri.  Well, I don’t think that’s happening, so I’ll settle for crossing the finish line…not poop out after 9 miles and make it for all 10.

2. Start slow.  I have a habit of starting out too fast and then burning out early.

3. Take in the lovely sites around me and not obsess about my time.  I’m hoping that they don’t have too many (or any at all) clocks posted along the course.  And I’ll have to make a conscious effort not to check my watch at every mile.  Let’s face it – there are thousands of people running this race – I’m not placing.

4.  Have fun.  And try to run over the finish line with my arms up (I’ve always wanted one of those race pictures).

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cherry Blossom Race Day Goals

  1. Kristen Parise says:

    I’m SO excited! I would LOVE for the blossoms to be in full bloom, but I want you to have a good race! Your goals are awesome. I think I’m with Mark on the “I just dont want to get picked up by the sweeper” but odds are I won’t. And if they try to pick me up, I will just kick and scream like a crazy until they let me go.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

