Falling Behind And Catching Up

Aside from daydreaming about future travel plans, we’ve been busy, busy, busy!  So, here’s a few updates.

Last week, we returned from an extended weekend in Michigan.  Bri’s cousin Ryan got married and we stayed a few extra days to visit with family out there.  I’m a sucker for weddings and I really do love witnessing that special moment when couples officially unite.  The bride, Kristen,  looked so movie star glamorous and Ryan had a huge grin on his face during the entire ceremony.  Great wedding and wonderful couple.  And thank you to Ryan for playing a Bruce Springsteen song for Bri and I.  Bruce is our favorite!

The beautiful wedding couple!

In other news, about 2 weeks ago, I finally received all the specific information about my trip with First Descents in May.  If you follow me on Facebook, you may have already heard about this from my posts.  Anyway, I honestly envisioned staying in some boy scout camp with cabins and bunk beds.  Much to my surprise, my accommodations are actually in luxury cabins overlooking the smoky mountains.  Should I mention that each cabin also has an outdoor hot tub?  Most people know that I’m a beach girl, but if I have to do mountains, this is where I want to be.  I am really excited about my trip.  My flight is booked and I am starting to go through my recommended packing list to see what I really need to buy.  First Descents has everything organized and planned out already – my itinerary during the day is pretty much filled with learning how to white water kayak.  We have one group raft trip and a trip into town for a few hours.  But other than that, most days will look something like this:  Wake up, breakfast, kayak, lunch on the river, kayak some more, return to cabins for a free hour or two, dinner, campfire and then bedtime.  First Descents even sent a gift the other day – nose plugs!  Apparently, I will need them while I’m out on the river.  I am really interested to learn more about First Descents and see if they are an organization that I will stay connected to (even if they are in Colorado).  First Descents has what they call “Team FD Events”, which is mostly where they form teams to participate in races and raise money for the organization.  The closest event to me is the Philadelphia Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon.  I’ve heard that the rock n’ roll races are awesome, but I’m not sure if the race date will work with my schedule.  We’ll see.

Bri and I have also been focusing on training for our upcoming race.  We have a family team running the Cherry Blossom 10 miler in DC in a few short weeks.  We did a pre-race practice 10 miler this past weekend and we were both happy with our pace (Bri was about 5 minutes faster than me, but I stopped for water).  However, I seriously lack energy after these long runs and find myself bumming around the house for hours afterwards accomplishing nothing.  Regardless, I am excited about the race and the fact that I’ll be running in such a cool city and with people I love.  I might do another post regarding my race day goals.

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Falling Behind And Catching Up

  1. Kristen McGillen says:

    YAY! I’m so excited to see you again in 2 weeks!

  2. Ryan says:

    We’re so glad you guys were able to be there. I may be wrong about this, but aren’t I your cousin too 😉

    I’m looking forward to DC because Kristen and I will actually have time to sit and talk! I didn’t get much time to chat with you guys.

  3. Aunt Patti says:

    We are all so glad you and Bri were here to share Ryan and Kristen’s special day. It meant so much to all of us to have so much of our families there!! It really is what it’s all about! We are also looking forward to the 10 Miler in DC. We always have such fun when we are all together! (Should I have Kevin ship a few helicopters for the weekend??)

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

