“First Descents” is On

I was holding back on posting about this because I wanted to wait until things were official.  Remember how I posted about  wanting to do something exciting and my introduction to First Descents?  Well, I applied for one of their trips and was accepted.  I had my oncologist’s office fill out the necessary medical forms and I’ll officially be embarking on a white water kayaking expedition with other cancer survivors in mid-May.

Why now and why this trip?  Well, I really wanted to do one of their mountain scaling/climbing trips.  I am afraid of heights and I thought that trip would force me to face and overcome one of my fears (sorta how I had to suck it up and face lots of needles over the past year).  Well, the dates for those trips just did not work with my schedule.  So, I opted for white water kayaking in Bryson City, North Carolina.  I have kayaked before, but never in water that moves.  Also, I’ve never been to North Carolina.  And here’s the other part – I’ll be camping (probably/hopefully in a cabin?).  I received an awesome stocking stuffer this year that I proudly display on my refrigerator.  It is a magnet that reads “I love not camping” and it shows a woman lounging luxuriously in her bed.  That magnet describes me perfectly.  Although I can handle a one night camping trip, I’ve never ever thought I’d be camping for a whole week.  This trip will definitely take me out of my comfort zone.  But that is the whole point.  I want to do something that will challenge me both physically and mentally.  Perhaps I should see if Bri will take me on a practice run camping trip – preferably when it is a little warmer outside.

So, I don’t have many details about my trip, other than the dates and location.  I should receive more info about 10 weeks prior.

 

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “First Descents” is On

  1. Kristen Parise says:

    Oh wow! That is so exciting! I can’t wait to hear all about it 🙂

  2. Aunt Patti says:

    Somehow, I don’t thnk you’ll have a real hard time convincing Bri to take you on a “practice” camping trip!!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

