I Don’t Want to Be Normal

As I sat on the couch in my jammies watching probably another Law & Order rerun the other day, I asked Bri if I was wild.  He kind of laughed and obviously said no.  But he did conclude that I’m normal (yeah, awesome).  My response was, “I don’t want to be normal.”  Bri again kind of laughed and said that I spent the last year just complaining that I wanted to feel/be normal.

So, that brief conversation along with Bri’s upcoming winter camping weekend is making me feel like I need to do something.  Something big.  In the fall, I ran a half marathon and that was my “big” event/accomplishment.  My friend Amy passed along the website for First Descents months ago.  I looked at their website at that time and thought their programs sounded awesome.  I decided to follow them on Twitter because I knew I would totally forget about them.  So, I just noticed that they are announcing their 2012 trips.    Basically First Descents provides cancer survivors with “free” adventure trips.  The 2012 options include surfing in Costa Rica, mountaineering in Alaska or rafting in Peru.  I put free in quotation marks, because it’s not entirely free.  The participant has to pay for their own travel costs to the location (i.e. airfare to Peru, Costa Rica, etc) and the participant has to fundraise $1,000 for FD.  I’m not sure that I’ll be able to apply this year – Bri and I were  hoping to do our own vacation together.  But I thought I would share this information for any other cancer survivors that might be interested in challenging themselves and connecting with other survivors.  I still think the concept is cool, but no, it’s not entirely free.

So, I’m still left with the feeling of wanting to do something wild and crazy – you know other than managing to stay up past 10PM on a Saturday night.  We’ll see.  Perhaps I’ll just have to sing karaoke at a bar one night (normal people don’t do that, right?).

Post Update (1/10/12):  So, it appears I misunderstood the First Descents website.  The trips I was looking at were these special FDX trips for those who have already been through the program.  There are indeed other trips for first timers without fundraising requirements.  I’ve spoken to someone from FD twice today and I think I may apply for one trip.  I’m not spilling the beans yet, but stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Don’t Want to Be Normal

  1. Laura says:

    Several good chuckles from this post. As well as thankful about your mention of the First Descents program. I’ll have to bookmark that for later on..good to know about. I bet one of those trips would be really interesting! Am curious: were you a runner/jogger pre-diagnosis or was the half something new you wanted to do that was spurred on by your diagnosis?

    • Alexis says:

      Hi Laura! Yes, I had been running prior to my diagnosis. I think my running & exercise regime really helped me get through my treatments – even if I wasn’t running far/fast, just getting up and doing something felt great. However, prior to my diagnosis, my longest run was about 6 or 7 miles, so the half was definitely a big deal for me 🙂 I wish you the best with your continued health (love that you’re juicing)!

  2. Kristen Parise says:

    I feel like that a lot. I know I’m not normal though, but I think that’s because when I go running and stuff Ryan thinks I’m crazy. To keep myself from feeling “normal” I like to plan nearby trips to WI and IN to step out of the day-to-day. They usually involve races, but we still have the best time!

  3. Pingback: “First Descents” is On | Brave & Bubbly

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

