1 Year Survivor

One year ago on December 16th, I became cancer free!  And today I’m celebrating my one year anniversary.  Well, I’m technically not “celebrating” (other than my much-needed Friday night glass of wine), but I am putting a special marker on this day. 

There are some minor discrepancies out there on how/when cancer survivors calculate their years of survivorship.  For me, I’m going with the day of my lumpectomy surgery because that was the day that all cancerous cells were removed from my body.  Chemo and radiation were just extra bonus treatments to ensure this cancer crap doesn’t happen again.

On Wednesday, I had my one year follow-up appointment with my breast surgeon.  As I walked into the building and through the halls, I was thinking about how much things have changed in the past year.  I was so scared, overwhelmed and exhausted this time last year.  I honestly felt like a little child at times.  Now, I walk in the door at the cancer center with my head held high smiling and saying hello to anyone I come across. 

Ok, now I’m going to prance around the house in my survivor shirt!

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, My Breast Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1 Year Survivor

  1. amy says:

    YAY for you!! I hope you have an amazing holiday, you deserve it 🙂

  2. Aunt Patti says:

    Happy Anniversary!! High fives and hugs–long distance, perhaps, but sincere all the same!!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

