Making Strides Against Breast Cancer

On Sunday, me, Bri and my parents walked 2.5 (easy peasy) miles for the American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk.  There was a great turnout in Wilmington and the weather was absolutely perfect – an amazing fall day. 
 
I think I read that a total of almost $400,000 was raised by this event alone.  Since I did the cancer walk this past April in NYC and had many friends and family donate for that event, I did not actively solicit donations for Sunday’s walk.  Instead, I just walked to show my support for all the survivors and in memory of those who have lost the breast cancer battle.  However, our small team of 7 did manage to raise almost $3,000.  Thanks to the other team members who kicked butt:  Cathy, Erin, Ashley, Claudia and Dawn. 
 
I walked with Bri and my parents right by side – three of the people in my life who stood by me through it all (there’s a lot more of you out there too)!!!  My coworker Cathy joined us and we had a few other team members that we lost in the crowd. 
Over the past year, Brian has also taken on the role as caregiver in addition to being one awesome husband!

Although it was a great event, I feel like a lot of money was spent on freebies.  Don’t get me wrong, I like freebies.  But I’d rather see more money going towards research, treatments and/or programs.  Since I’m a survivor, I received a free long sleeve shirt, drawstring bag filled with goodies, cupcakes, cookies, a reusable tote upon registering and a small tote mailed to me.  I know that some of these items were donated by sponsors, but the amount of freebies just seemed like too much.  I would have been satisfied with just a cookie and/or a t-shirt.  At the end of the event, there was also a lot of survivor merchandise leftover, so the organizers just handed it out to regular walkers too.  Just my opinion, but as a cancer survivor, I thought it was just too much stuff. 

 

My parents - check out my dad's free breast cancer survivor shirt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Strides Against Breast Cancer

  1. Kristen Parise says:

    Real men definitely wear pink! 🙂

  2. Corinne says:

    We were walking too! It was a great event and I was so suprised by how many people were there. Awesome event!!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

