2 Refills Left

I’m a visual person and definitely a planner.  However, my diagnosis has taught me that you just can’t plan everything in life.  Coming to this realization was truly a rude awakening for me.  But, sometimes, the unexpected happens.  So, even though I didn’t plan on getting breast cancer, I did devise little agendas and “plans” to see me through each phase.

There was a period of uncertainty where we didn’t know the next stage of treatment (i.e waiting on pathology reports, BRCA 1/2 results, Oncotype score, etc).  Bri helped me navigate this unknown territory by creating a flow chart.  It was nothing fancy, just a chart penciled in on a piece of notebook paper.  But his flow chart was so useful for us to figure out what was next and what we were heading towards. 

So, when I started chemo and radiation, I found it helpful to use a countdown to get me through.  The sequence of my treatments was lumpectomy, 4 rounds of chemo and 33 rounds of radiation.  Now, I’m in the last phase of treatment – maintaining a healthy and cancer free life and also taking Tamoxifen daily for five years.

A week ago I received a friendly email reminder from Walgreens – “Prescription Available for Refill.”  Wow, has it already been 3 months since I started Tamox (my prescriptions are filled for 90 days at time)?  After I pick up my next 90 day supply, I’ll only have to get it refilled 2 more times this year (or 18 times total).  I am really looking forward to the day when I take my last pill.  Not that I’m wishing my life away or trying to make time go by faster, but these little mind games seem to help. 

Now, if you don’t mind, I’m going to get back to enjoying my life!

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being, My Breast Cancer, Tamoxifen. Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

