Dare to be Fit

I work for a University and about a year and a half ago, the administration unveiled their new catchphrase,  “Dare to be First.”  Since, then every little event and program on campus has piggy backed on the “Dare to…” slogan, including our employee/student 5k.

Our “Dare to Be Fit” 5k was this past Thursday.  Believe it or not, this was my first official 5k race.  Employee spouses were also able to run, so I was able to convince Bri to run with me.  He has not run since mid-July, so I was excited that he was willing to join in.  I wanted to finish in 28 minutes or under and Bri agreed that he would probably just run along side me.  Well, the gun went off and so did Bri.  He left me in the dust. 

Despite the foggy and rainy weather, we had fun.  Most of the race went down Creek Road, which is one of my favorite places to run.  It was only a small group running, but Bri finished 3rd in his age group – pretty awesome for a guy who hasn’t run in about 3 months.  Way to go Bri!  I was pleased with my time too.  And even though I didn’t place like my husband Sir Speedy Pants, I still felt happy that I’m doing good things for my body. 

Post race photo with YouDee (same shirt as my half marathon - I guess this is my lucky racing outfit)!

I’m not sure what’s next, perhaps the 10K Turkey Trot in November?

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dare to be Fit

  1. Congrats on running your first 5K! That’s such a great accomplishment… I don’t know if I could do it!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

