When Your Pet is Your Kid…

Since Bri and I don’t have kids, our lil Jessie beagle has stepped in and literally become our kid.  We even refer to ourselves as “Mom” and “Dad.” 

Jessie's favorite past time - sunbathing (and sleeping)!

We adopted Jessie almost 4 years ago from a shelter and she’s brought so much joy to our lives.  She tags along and comes everywhere with us.  We really lucked out with her – she’s such an easy-going dog and such a sweetheart.  If you’ve seen my Facebook posts, you know that Jessie is sick.  I think I finally know how my parents, Bri, and countless other family members must have felt when I told them I hadbreast cancer – helpless.

Last Monday, she started to slow down and was not her normal self.  She just seemed really lethargic and her eyes were glazed over.  Thankfully, she continued to eat well, drink, and go the bathroom regularly.  By Tuesday night nothing had changed and I called the vet Wednesday morning.  I couldn’t get an appointment until Thursday morning.  At first, we thought it might just be lyme disease.  Then, blood work came back Friday afternoon revealing that her kidney enzymes were highly elevated – which indicated that her kidneys were not functioning properly. 

Jessie has been at the doggie hospital since Friday night on IV fluids.  Her blood pressure is elevated, so that’s another concern.  Her chest x-ray was normal and her abdominal x-ray revealed some sort of defect in her left kidney – suggesting an infection or inflammatory disease.  She’ll be getting an abdominal ultrasound today which should give us more information.  

So, why am I writing about a dog on my breast cancer blog?  Well, first as I previously mentioned, I think I finally realize what others felt when I was diagnosed.  Sorry to put you all through hell.  Second, it was so comforting to have Jessie by my side (ok in bed and under the covers with me) when I had my tired/sick days post chemo.  I’ve often read research studies about people with pets being healthier and I truly believe that she contributed to my recovery.  Jessie also forced me to keep moving during chemo.  Even on my worst days, I knew that I was getting out of the house for at least 15 minutes to make sure she got walked (yeah, I’m a good dog Mommy).

This past year has been so hard for us.  I often look back at how much we’ve faced and how we’ve overcome everything.  I know that Jessie will not be around forever, but I just don’t think we can handle another tragedy this year.  Please keep our fur baby in your thoughts and prayers!

Jessie claiming our guest bed as her own!

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Your Pet is Your Kid…

  1. Jen Rasmussen says:

    Gotta love the “had” cancer comment, but I do feel so badly for Jessie…poor baby. Will keep praying for her, mommy and daddy.

  2. Erin says:

    I’m sorry to hear about Jessie. Our animals are like family to us, too, and I know what a comfort they are when you’re lying around feeling like crap after chemo. I’ll keep her in my thoughts and prayers!
    Erin

  3. Aunt Patti says:

    Hope she is getting stronger every day!! So sorry to hear you are going through all this worry. We’ll all keep thinking good thoughts and sending positve energy her way! YOU take care of you (and Bri)!! **Hugs!!**

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

