Five Years!

September 9, 2011 – Today, Bri and I are celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary.  

We started a tradition with our first wedding anniversary, where we just try to get out of town for the weekend.  No fancy gifts or flowers, just the two of us having a great time and enjoying each other’s company.  We usually go somewhere that is a short drive (no more than 2 – 3 hours).  This year, we’re making it a 3 day weekend and we are heading to Chincoteague and Assoteague Island.  Neither of us have been there before, so we’re both excited about our lil getaway.    

The strength of our marriage has definitely been tested over the past year or so.  Despite the curveballs that have been thrown our way we both agree that our marriage/relationship is just really easy and fun.  I guess that helps us to deal with the not so fun stuff.  It just feels like I’m hanging out with my best friend every day. 

I will be the first to admit that I can be annoying at times and might nag a bit (honestly, I am getting better though).  But Bri does an amazing job of putting up with me.  So, I had to laugh when I read a Chinese fortune that I recently pinned on Pinterest about marriage:  “Marriage lets you annoy one special person for the rest of your life.” 

Here’s to a lifetime of annoying (and loving) Bri!

September 9, 2006

I’m grateful for Bri and all that he does.  I’m so glad that I had him standing next to me throughout everything, as we both plunged into the unknown world of dealing with cancer crap!

Today is also “Stand Up To Cancer” day. Stand Up To Cancer Day is meant to heighten the profile of research into cancer remedies and cures, to raise the funds to back research and to bring together the best teams of scientists and experts, removing obstacles to their progress.

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Years!

  1. Courtney says:

    happy (belated) anniversary. We had fun thinking back to your actual wedding day. I vote for a redo— with no changes, just all the fun again!

  2. Not Brian says:

    Wow, that guy Brian sure sounds like an awesome guy. I bet he would never point that you spelled Assateague wrong.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

