Life List Updated & Other Randoms

Yesterday, I crossed something off my life list (and in turn added one more item).

A while back, I mentioned that I was considering registering for a half marathon.  Well, I’ve been keeping up with training and doing one long run a week.  I had a few different doctors appointments on Monday, so it was just easier to take the whole day off work.  Before my appointments, I got up early and set out to run 10 miles.  Yikes.  I won’t lie, it was hard, but I did it and crossed “Run a 10 Miler” off my list.  I am so convinced that a huge component to training for any sort of challenge is the mental preparation.  I have resorted to playing every mind game imaginable to get me through these long runs.  One thought that I seem to revert back to is, that if I got through chemo, I could get through anything.  Chemo left such a bad taste in my mouth (literally) that I often use it as a point of comparison. 

After my run, my appointments went pretty smoothly.  I had a regular 6 month check up with my dentist and was bummed when he told me I have to get a cavity filled.  Ugh, I guess eating all those sweets during chemo wasn’t the best idea.  My follow-up appointment with my oncologist was kind of boring.  And that’s a good thing.  I really hope that each follow-up visit gets more boring!  I was offered the option of going on a low dose anti-depressant to help with my hot flashes.  I’m not interested though.  I can’t even remember to take my tamoxifen and I don’t feel like taking a drug with side effects to deal with side effects from another drug.  That is just crazy. 

On a completely non-related and random note, I’m obsessed with Pinterest and I bought hair product yesterday

First, if you’re not using Pinterest, you should be.  I only have a handful of bulletin boards and I’ve only pinned about 20 – 25 items, but it is so neat.  Some people have hundreds of items pinned.  

Secondly, I’ve never been a fan of hair products, but I reluctantly purchased Nexxus’ “Creative Sculpting Putty” yesterday.   I though it sounded fancy and it was on sale, but in reality, it’s just clear hair gel.  So, I tried out some spiky hair do’s yesterday and today.  It looks good, but I’m inexperienced, so I think I need more practice with this stuff. 

That’s all my random ramblings for now.  Hope everyone survived Irene.

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

