Enjoy the Rest of Your Life

“Enjoy the Rest of Your Life” – Usually when you hear words like this, you might think of sarcastic remarks of a couple fighting or breaking up.  In a way, I broke up with my radiation oncologist today. 

I went in for a follow-up appointment.  Everything went really well (as expected).  Radiation was fairly easy for me and I didn’t have any major side effects, other than the expected sunburn.  And from here, there’s really no need for me to see my radiation oncologist again.  So, we both laughed as we said, “I hope I never see you again.”  Then I blurted, “enjoy the rest of your summer” to which he responded “enjoy the rest of your life.” 

And that’s just what I’m going to do!

Just wanted to add another tidbit of news.  I made an appointment to see my hairdresser in about 2 weeks!!!  I have not seen her since she shaved my head, but my hair is growing and I need her to tell me what to do.  I think that I’m really close to being able to leave the house without a head covering.  And one of my coworkers told me that her friend got hair extensions after chemo.  So, of course I’m going to have to ask Rachel about the possibility of extensions (I honestly never even thought about that).  I’ve had my hair short before, but I think short hair will be a constant reminder of this part of my life and I’m ready to move on and enjoy the rest of my life!!!

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being, My Breast Cancer, Radiation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enjoy the Rest of Your Life

  1. Aunt Patti says:

    This is one time we don’t have to think “Breaking up is hard to do!!” Congratulations!!
    I would love to see some pictures of your new “do!”

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

