Making Strides Against Breast Cancer

I was invited to attend a local kick-off breakfast for the American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk.  The walk is October 23 in Wilmington and I’m forming a team (hint, hint – I’ll soon be inviting friends and family to join my team).  And it is a walk, not a race or a run!

The event’s website says that “you’re helping create a world with less breast cancer and more birthdays – where breast cancer never steals another year from anyone’s life.”  Well that just great, because I’d love to have more birthdays!

I was talking with a woman who works at a hotel right next to where I work and she said that her and some of her co-workers are forming a team.  These ladies know my situation and wanted me to join their team.  I agreed as long as I can invite my family and friends.  So, the four of us will be attending the breakfast together next week and brainstorming for team names.  Please feel free to comment if you can suggest any creative team names.  So far, Bri came up with “Pink Panthers” and I thought of “Pink Peeps.”  I’m trying to stay away from team names with the words boobs, breasts, ta-tas, etc.  Stay tuned for more details in the upcoming weeks!  And please submit any ideas!

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun, Health & Well Being, My Breast Cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Strides Against Breast Cancer

  1. Erin says:

    Hey, Alexis, thanks for the comment! I found your blog on the YSC (I think?) website when I was first diagnosed and have been reading it since. It was one of the first ones that I started reading and really helped me in the beginning to see that you can have a somewhat-normal/happy life during treatment. 🙂 Glad to hear you’re doing well, sending thoughts of speedy hair-growth your way! Erin

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

