RAD 33: I’m a Survivor

After reading this post title – start singing the well-known Beyoncé/Destiny’s Child song here (Survivor).  Yes, its cheesy, I know.  However, I can’t get that stupid song out of my head! 

I walked into the cancer center today (July 18) believing that I still had 3 days left to go.  I got changed and sat in the waiting room.  My neighbor works as a tech in my radiation oncologist’s office – she’s not my tech, but she has filled in a few times and been there for my appointments.  So, she came back to get me today and she threw her arms up in the air and declared, “last day.”  What?  I thought I still had 3 more rounds left.  I didn’t want to let myself get excited, so I just insisted that she double-check.  Sure enough, my notes said 25 rounds to the whole breast and 8 for the boost.  Hmm, how did I get this mixed up?  So, in for my treatment I went and then celebrated by ringing the bell (everyone rings the bell when they’re done with radiation).  I only rang it twice because its super loud.  I gave hugs to Janet and was kind of sad that my regular techs were not there today. 

I was kind of caught off guard and didn’t know how to react or what to do.  I wasn’t expecting today to be my last day and I was definitely confused and not exactly prepared.  Other patients heard the bell ringing, so they stuck their heads out of the changing room to congratulate me.  I was starting to get teary eyed.  Before I could sit down, I was called back to meet with the doctor (actually another fill – in doctor). 

As I was waiting, I just got really emotional.  I was alone and just really worked up.  So, in walks the fill -in doctor – a young and quite handsome (sorry Bri) man.  He asked me a few questions and then I heard Dr. K’s voice.  He was back from the hospital and wanted to see me!  Dr. K walked in and I just lost it.  I was hysterical crying!  The young doc and Dr. K were just looking at each other and probably wandering what the heck was wrong with me.  When I finally got a moment where I could breathe, I was able to tell them that they were sincerely tears of joy.  I was totally not expecting to get so emotional.  The young doc left and then Dr. K had a few words with me – basically just congratulating me and telling me how happy he was.  He also told me that the boost was a little higher dose and I had not counted my 2 simulations in my count for 35 rounds – so that’s why I was done earlier than expected.  Sure, I’m not going to argue with that. 

I am so happy to be able to put all of this behind me.  I have a bunch of follow-up appointments in August and I’m looking forward to getting things back to normal.  And I’m happy to report that radiation was definitely a walk (or a run) in the park compared to chemo!

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being, My Breast Cancer, Radiation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RAD 33: I’m a Survivor

  1. Aunt Patti says:

    Tears of joy all around today!! So happy you can put this chapter to rest and get on with the rest of your life!! Cangratulations! Lots of hugs and kisses from all of your Michigan family!!

  2. Amy Reinink says:

    I’m singing “Survivor” in my head for you. Now, repeat after me, at full volume: Free at last! Free at last! Thank God Almighty … you know the rest. CONGRATULATIONS, dear friend! You’re DONE!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

