RAD: 15 – 21

14 treatments left!

Day 15: This day fell on a Monday, so I met with my nurse and doctor again.  They looked at me and everything looked good.  The nurse told me something gross – I could get a yeast infection under my breast.  Oh my god!  That grossed me out so much.  Thankfully, it doesn’t look like anything like that has happened.  I told the doc that the area under my armpit looked a lot darker and he agreed, but said they don’t treat color differences.  As long as my skin wasn’t irritated or blistering, I was fine.

Day 17: Although I don’t have any blisters, my skin is starting to feel irritated under my armpit – especially when I workout.  I think it’s just from the way I move/swing my arm.

Day 18: I’ve officially crossed the half-way point.  17 more rounds of radiation to go!

Day 20: It’s a Monday again, which means I met with a nurse and my doctor today.  At this appointment, there was a considerable amount of skin darkening to show them.  I don’t feel any pain or feel a burn, but they scared me because they were concerned about the color.  Well, if they don’t treat for color and there’s no pain, then what’s the big deal?  I told the doc that I walked into his office feeling great and his reaction was making me feel extremely self-conscious.  He said not to worry – I’d be back to topless dancing in 6 months.  Ha – gotta love his sense of humor.  The doctor reminded me that I should try to stay out of the sun (impossible) or at least be very careful when I’m outside.  And to be honest, I’m not going to hibernate indoors or under a tree all summer.  But I’m really good with making sure I apply sunblock and trying to cover up my treated areas so my skin is not directly exposed.  He also mentioned that I “might” try walking instead of running – nope sorry, ain’t gonna happen!

I was given more samples of Aquaphor since I whined that I can’t find it in my local stores and don’t have time to drive all over the place searching for it.  They also gave me samples of a prescription cream called Xclair.  Its made specifically for skin treated by radiation and I think I’ll probably have them give me the prescription for it.

Day 21:  60% done!  I think I’ll be 100% done on July 19 or 20 – I might have to plan a happy hour to celebrate that day!

This entry was posted in My Breast Cancer, Radiation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RAD: 15 – 21

  1. amyreinink says:

    You just tell me when you’re doing that happy hour … Fast Eddie, my pink sangria and I will certainly have to make an appearance.

  2. Jen Rasmussen says:

    I’d definitely be up for happy hour too. Can we just plan on it???
    I can work on a babysitter…

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

