Great News!

You know how some people say/think that bad news (or deaths) come in threes.  Well, it seems that good news/luck struck 3 times for us in 1 day!  After what seemed like months of crappy things happening to us, we finally had a day filled with lots of good news.

June 23:  I officially passed the halfway point for radiation treatments!  17 more treatments to go.

Before my radiation appointment, I met with my genetic counselor to get test results.  Back in mid-May, I had decided to have an additional test done for the TP53 gene.  Basically,  if the TP53 gene is damaged, tumor suppression is severely reduced. People who inherit only one functional copy of the TP53 gene will most likely develop tumors in early adulthood, a disease known as Li-Fraumeni syndrome.  Well, I tested negative for the TP53 mutation.  This is definitely great news, but it stills leaves with no explanation as to why I got breast cancer at such a young age.  I still think God was just testing me – seeing if I have what it takes to endure such a fight!  I guess I’m proving that I’ve got it.

Our third and final piece of good news came when we discovered that Blue Cross Blue Shield (BCBS) paid our claims for IVF.  After being denied coverage because I didn’t meet the medical criteria, we submitted a letter of appeal back in late April.  BCBS had 60 days to respond – so naturally we’ve checking our mailbox like crazy for an approval or denial letter.  Our medical bill for the IVF procedure had been hanging on our refrigerator for months, so on June 20, I mailed in our payment in full.  Reproductive Associates didn’t waste any time processing that check and it was deducted from our account by June 22.  Well, we logged onto BCBS’s website on June 23 to find out that the claims were paid on June 16, but we were never notified.  Ugh. 

At this point, I was still skeptical.  Bri called his parents and told them that our appeal had been approved.  I called my parents and said, “well, it looks like it may have been approved, but I don’t know for sure yet.”  I didn’t want to celebrate until I knew for sure.  On Friday morning, I got on the phone with BCBS and was informed that YES, everything was approved.  The state of Delaware had intervened in my case and pushed everything through as an “exception” since I didn’t meet the criteria for in vitro fertilization.  Most couples use it for fertility issues, but we were using it for fertility preservation. 

So, now we are just working on getting back our money from Reproductive Associates.  Bri made the phone calls to their billing department, and it seems that they’re going to try to expedite the process for us.  Given BCBS’s medical coverage plans, we’re still responsible for 25% of the costs, but 25% is way better than 100%.  Even though payment was sent to the correct doctor/practice, BCBS sent my approval letter and authorization to another doctor/practice.  That still doesn’t explain why we were not notified that our appeal was approved.  And I’m still confused why they sent our letter to a different doctor, since I’ve never stepped foot into his office.  BCBS really couldn’t explain that to me either.  So for now, I’m just celebrating the fact that good things are happening for us.  And for all of those reading – thanks for all the love, support and words of encouragement over the past few months!

This entry was posted in Fertility Preservation, Health & Well Being, My Breast Cancer, Radiation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great News!

  1. Courtney says:

    wonderful news all the way around!!! congrats, congrats, congrats. i am glad that you don’t have to gear up for another round of battles with the insurance. sounds like you’re on the trajectory to coast right over the finish line. i hope it stays smooth sailing ahead 🙂

  2. Aunt Patti says:

    Keep that momentum going!! High fives, Pats on the back, and big hugs for everything! July 20th will be here before you know it!! After this is all a memory, and you look back on this past year, I think even you will be amazed at what you have accomplished!

  3. amyreinink says:

    “The state of Delaware had intervened in my case” — incredible! As they should, but still—incredible! So happy for you guys. Good news tastes a heckuva lot sweeter when you’ve been sucking on a bunch of bad news before you get it!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

