A Beginning and an End

May 27, 2011:  While Bri was dealing with the Great Basement Flood of 2011, I headed out to two doctor appointments.  My mom joined me since my parents were in town for my graduation ceremony and the Fair Hill Races.

The first appointment was with radiation oncology.  I had to get a xray and go through a simulation for my first radiation appointment.  It was really uneventful.  I basically check myself in each day, change out of my clothes from the waist up, and then wait to be called back for radiation.  Once I’m in the radiation room, I just lay on a bed with my arms above my head, have the therapists make sure I’m lined up correctly, and then lie there for about 3 minutes while they shoot laser beams at me.  Radiation treatments will start May 31!  It is so exciting to finally arrive at the beginning of my last phase of treatments.

After I was done with radiation oncology, I went upstairs for a follow-up appointment with my medical oncologist, Dr. Biggs.  It was such a great feeling to walk  into his office knowing that I wasn’t there for chemo.  I was beaming.  My blood work looked good, so the nurse practitioner and Dr. Biggs just examined me and we discussed some of the side effects/minor issues from my last chemo treatment.  I can now add a new one to the list: hot flashes.  Chemo can give women menopause like symptoms and may even potentially throw me into early menopause.  Oh boy, those hot flashes are not fun (especially when you’re wearing a wig).  Now I understand what all these women have to complain about.   And even though these side effects from chemo my go away, Tamoxifen (the drug I’ll be on for 5 years), can cause the same menopause like symptoms.  Well, isn’t that just fabulous!

So, what’s next?  Well, I’m done with Dr. Biggs for a while.  He gave me my prescription for Tamoxifen which I start right after radiation.  And then I don’t have to return to Dr. Biggs’ office for three months.  Woo hoo!  Now, I like Dr. Biggs and all, but I just don’t like the circumstances under which we meet.  So, I’m happy that I don’t have to be back to his office for a while.  That visit and the fact that the worst of my chemo side effects were behind me, finally made it all seem so real.  Yes, I’m done with chemo!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Beginning and an End

  1. Aunt Patti says:

    HOT FLASHES????? Oh you sweet girl!!! I feel your pain! I would say I’m sending hugs, but I remember just saying “TOO HOT!!” whenever anyone tried to hug me!! So, I’m sending lots of no-touch hugs!!

  2. Alexis says:

    Thanks! Yes, hot flashes stink

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

