6 Months + Another May Birthday

May 23, 2011 – Six months ago, I received a phone call from my surgeon telling me the news that my biopsy showed that I had breast cancer.  Crazy how such a short phone call can turn your life upside down.  These past six months have really been a challenge for me.  A lot of people say that I make it look easy or that I’m handling everything with such grace.  The truth is that since November 23 – breast cancer and my fight – are the first thing on my mind when I wake up in the morning and the last thing on my mind when I go to sleep at night.  I cannot wait for the day when I just don’t have to think about it. 

Aside from the fact that I’ve made it through a grueling six months of being poked and prodded, today also marked another milestone for my family.  My brother and his wife are first time parents – as they welcomed their baby girl into the world.  Valentina Angelina is a healthy and apparently very vocal newborn.  She’s known in the nursery as the “loud one.”   Ha, ha – my brother gets his payback.  Bri and I are happy to have another niece and my parents are also very excited to be first time grandparents.  It will be another 2 1/2 weeks until Bri and I get to meet the lil one, but at least that will allow mom and dad to settle in and get accustomed to their new life and responsibilities. 

Precious Valentina - with lots of dark hair!

 

Albanese Family

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 6 Months + Another May Birthday

  1. Ann Brennan says:

    That is the sweetest name ever and she is ridiculously cute. Thanks for sharing. Congratulations on being a new aunt.

  2. Aunt Patti says:

    She really is beautiful, and I can tell you–being an aunt is the best. I had a very close relationship with my aunts (and uncles, too!) and I have always felt a special bond with my nephews–and now their wives, too!

    • Alexis says:

      Thanks Aunt Patti 🙂 Obviously we want kids of our own, but the great thing about being an aunt or visiting with other people’s kids is that you can play and do lots of fun things – and then hand them back to their parents when they cry or have a stinky diaper 🙂 Just wish we lived closer to all of our lil people!

  3. amyreinink says:

    Borrowing someone else’s baby means never having to say, “I’ll change that diaper.” Congrats to your brother, and congrats to YOU on making it through such a difficult six months. Like middle school, you’ll never, ever have to do those six months again!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

