Sassy

In case you haven’t picked up on it, I named my wig “Sassy.”  I’m not sure how I/we decided upon this name – it was just the word of the day when I was wig shopping with Jen and Amy.  I know that a lot of you have been anxious to see pictures, so finally here are some pictures that my mom and aunt took for me last weekend in New Jersey.

Glamour Shots Anyone?

I mostly just wear Sassy to work and when I’m out of the house.  When I’m inside, I just walk around bald and I feel totally comfortably doing so.  My aunt asked me if I’ve lost hair elsewhere on my body.  So, here’s the scoop…there are some benefits to chemo.  I can’t remember the last time I shaved underneath my arms.  It is wonderful and I can’t wait till I’m wearing sleeveless shirts and don’t have to worry about this for a while.  I do have to shave my legs, but only once every week and a half or so (not bad).   Well, Dr. Biggs told me I probably wouldn’t lose my eyebrows or eyelashes.  But before I started chemo someone in the boutique shop told me that it could happen and I should buy this conditioning gel.  The gel comes in a tube that looks like clear mascara and I apply it to my eyebrows and eyelashes each day.  So, I’m not sure if it’s the gel that is working or if I just wasn’t destined to lose this hair, but thankfully I have not had to mess with fake eyelashes or drawing on eyebrows.  I also have not lost any of my arm hair.  I am not sure why chemo attacks the scalp and why it just can’t work on my legs/underarms and let me have my head hair.  Someone has to formulate a conditioning gel for that!!!

Not the greatest picture - I still have to get used to styling it!

This entry was posted in Chemo, Friends, Family, & Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sassy

  1. Aunt Patti says:

    With or without hair–you look great! I know it hasn’t been easy for you, but you sure make it look that way!

  2. amyreinink says:

    Why did we call it Sassy? LOOK at you! TOTAL sass-bomb! You certainly don’t need the wig … but man, does it ever look great on you!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

