Scary Statistics

The first class I took for my MBA degree was statistics..and it was scary!  I hadn’t been in a classroom in over 5 years and I certainly had not used calculus or calculated derivatives for far too long.  But you know what’s even scarier than spitting out formulas and wanting to go home and cry after every class?  These statistics:

1 in 3 women will be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime and 1 in 8 women will develop breast cancer in their lifetime.  I sincerely hope that I am the only statistic for all the women that I know and love.

Early on in my journey, an old friend from Atlantic Highlands contacted me.  Cristen and I had first met when we were in elementary school and both our moms drove to the wrong church for our first girl scout meeting.  We were a year apart in school, but being from a really small town, we generally were involved in the same activities and later on frequented the same high school parties.  Her mom had battled breast cancer a few years ago and she just wanted to reach out and offer support.  I know that Cristen and her family have walked in Revlon’s EIF Run/Walk for Women in NYC for the past several years.  And Cristen invited me to join her team, A Shore Cure, and walk with them this year.  I was on the fence for a long time – mostly because I didn’t know my treatment schedule and I didn’t want to stress myself out with too many commitments on my calendar.

This past week, I officially decided to join her team and fight for all women’s cancers!  I took a vacation day off from work on April 29 and will drive up to NJ.  Then my mom and I will get up at some god awful hour on April 30 to take a train into NYC for the walk.  If you’re free that day and would like to join us, that would be great (by the way my birthday is the next day).  If you’re not free or it’s just not feasible and you’d like to support the cause, please feel free to visit my donation page.

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being, My Breast Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

