Protect Yourself and Your Family?

You may be asking yourself, what’s that post title all about?  Well, I recently stumbled upon some information that I thought I would share.  And I’m not sure if I’m the only person who didn’t know about this…

I recently attended a work event (Legislative brunch) in Dover that was attended by different representatives from various companies across the state.  On this particular day, I was wearing a head wrap and some brave people felt comfortable talking to me and asking about my situation.

One woman thought I looked familiar, but I didn’t recognize her.  Anyway she was from the Blood Bank of Delmarva and we ended up having a great and lengthy conversation.  She asked if I was going through chemo and if I had a blood bank membership.  Yes, no.  Then she proceeded to tell me why I need to be a member…Sorry if this sounds like an advertisement, but I was really shocked when I learned that insurance does not cover the cost of blood.  Insurance covers the testing and processing of the blood, but not the actual blood.  And apparently blood is expensive (actually technically it is free, but the costs associated with getting the donor’s blood, testing it, and transporting it add up).  The woman’s boyfriend/husband/partner is also undergoing chemo and had to have a plasma transfusion (or something along those lines with the word “plasma” in it).  Anyway, had he not had a blood bank membership, the plasma would have cost $20,000!  What?  That is insane.  Okay, am I the only one who did not know this?  In my defense I have been fairly healthy throughout my life and am just now learning all the ins and outs of what insurance covers or doesn’t cover.  So, guess what I’m doing?

My work actually pays for my blood bank membership (it’s a whopping $5/year).  But in addition to the $5 membership fee you’re also required to do 1 of 3 things:  give blood yourself, have someone else give blood for you, or pay $30.  Given my health, I cannot donate blood for at least another 5 years.  So, this is an opportunity for Bri to redeem himself and not feel so helpless anymore.  I’m going to ask him to donate for me.

I guess this is all just something I never thought about, but blood is often needed for emergencies like car accidents, surgeries, and for people like me undergoing cancer treatments.  Now, I hope that I won’t ever actually need the blood, but I’m happy to know that I’ll be insuring myself.  If you’re reading this and don’t already do so, sign yourself up and donate blood!

This entry was posted in Health & Well Being. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Protect Yourself and Your Family?

  1. Aunt Patti says:

    Thanks so much for posting this, Alexis. Even though one of the doctors I worked for at the hospital was the Blood Bank Administrator, I never knew you had to have a membership for it to be covered. We will definitely be looking into that!! The need for blood is not something you can plan and save for!!

  2. Jennifer Milam says:

    I would be glad to donate blood in your name! Any time!

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

