I’m Giving Up Hair for Lent

Ah, it’s starting to happen.  Instead of having the outlook that I’m losing my hair (and prompted by a Brian joke) I’ve decided to just give up my hair for Lent.  It’s much easier when I’m in control.  We were in church today and he turned to ask me what I’m giving up for lent.  Before I could say anything he looked at me and said “hair” and we both had a good laugh.

After my run on Thursday, I took a shower.  As I was brushing my hair, I noticed that more strands than normal were coming out in my brush. Uh oh.  I also kept waking up in the middle of the night to feel my pillow.  I was pleased to find no stray hairs on my pillow.  I washed, brushed, and dried my hair Friday morning without any problems.  But I did throw a head wrap in my purse just in case something started to happen at work.  I had a good night sleep on Friday night and was not compulsively waking up to feel my pillow.

Bri and I got a lot of stuff done around the house on Saturday and I was feeling good.  I decided to go for a run around 1:30 or so.  I pulled my hair back with my favorite Under Armour headband and had such a great run.  I ran a quick 4.5 miles and walked 0.6 miles. There were a few pit stops to grab some tissues and water, but overall it was great run.  The wind was blowing a lot and I was very aware of my hair blowing everywhere.  My scalp also felt weird and tight.  I came home and took a shower – being extra careful when washing my hair.  I think I was so careful, that I didn’t put enough conditioner in my hair and it was a little knotty.  When I tried to brush my hair, massive amounts of strands were just coming out in my brush.  It was so weird.  Surprisingly, I handled this quite well.  Bri was at the gym, so I sent him a text and called my mom.  I think my mom was freaking out more than I was.  I knew this was going to happen and there’s really nothing I can do about – it’s actually all kind of funny in a way.

So, if I just touch my hair a lot of strands come out – not clumps (yet).  A few weeks ago, I had made a hair appointment with my hair stylist (Rachel)for her to shave my head.  The appointment is not until Wednesday.  I called the salon yesterday to see if I could move the appointment up.  Unfortunately, they’re closed on Sundays and Mondays, and the earliest appointment I could get is Tuesday afternoon.  Rachel also does both of Bri’s parents’ hair and his dad is Facebook friends with Rachel.  So I had Russ send Rachel a message on Facebook to see if she could fit me in before Tuesday.  I also sent her an email, but we haven’t heard from her yet.  I’m eager to bite the bullet, get this over with, and give up my hair for Lent!

Update: I got in touch with Rachel…Even though the salon is closed on Mondays, she can get us in.  Soooo, Monday at 5:30 we’re meeting to shave my head. Kinda crazy.  But how many women can say they’ve shaved their head?

This entry was posted in Chemo, Friends, Family, & Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m Giving Up Hair for Lent

  1. AndreAnna says:

    You’re handling this so well – hope the hairdresser can get you in sooner!

  2. Courtney says:

    does Dr. Milam also double as hairdresser bri? i’m sure he can work you in. 🙂 and if he can operate a syringe and needle, what’s holding him back from clippers?

    good luck, Alexis.

  3. Courtney says:

    or, you could go all GI Jane on your bad self.

  4. Courtney says:

    last comment… i hope you’re laughing. All jokes aside, you’re awesome.

    • Yes – I’m laughing!!! News update – we got a hold of Rachel. Head will be shaved tomorrow after work. I’m surprisingly calm, but thinking maybe I’ll freak out tomorrow, hmmm.

      • Jen Rasmussen says:

        I know…that you know…it’s perfectly normal to freak out. You have handled all of this with such strenth, courage and poise- you amaze me. I’ll be there if you need me in a heartbeat, you know my number.

  5. Aunt Patti says:

    Becca and I agreed yesterday—if we looked like you, we would probably shave our heads anyway!! Once again, you have faced this with such grace! I agree with Courtney–You’re awesome!!!
    *Hugs*

  6. loralee says:

    finally figured how to work this you r teaching me everyday and not just ablout the computer

    how is it that I just I am so blessed to have born you you are such an inspiration and words can never express how proud i am of u and how much i love u mom

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

