Class of 2011

Have you noticed anything different on my “Life List” page?  Look closely and you’ll see that another item has been checked off. 

I officially finished all of my graduate course work!  My last class was an easy breezy elective – Small Business Development and Management.  The entire class was one big project – I had to work with a team to develop and present a business plan.   Our presentation ( Blue Hen Winery Presentation ) had to be geared towards potential (fake) investors.  We chose to start a winery and quickly realized that it would never work given the amount of money we would have to borrow.  So, we made some assumptions and made our pitch to a wealthy friend.  First, we assumed that our wine enthusiast friend had inherited a large piece of property with an old barn that we could use for our wine making and tasting room.  Second, we also assumed that the same friend had also inherited a large sum of money and just wanted to make a good enough return on his investment to pay the taxes on the property.  We were the last group to present that night and as we stood up at 9:30 PM, students were already starting to doze off.  I don’t blame them as that could have easily been me. 

I am proud of myself and glad that it is over.  But I am now left wondering what I will do with all my spare time.  Yikes. 

I had to mail in my “Application for Advanced Degree” the other day.  I posed a question to the Facebook world asking for suggestions on how my name should read on my diploma.  After debating with myself for several days, I finally decided on “Alexis Albanese Milam.”  Yes, I started the degree as a Milam, but my diploma from my undergraduate degree says “Albanese” so I kind of wanted things to match up. 

People keep asking me if I’m going to have a party or celebrate.  And the answer is yes and no.  Nothing is planned in the immediate future.  Graduation is Memorial Day Weekend.  I have a ceremony on May 27 just for my program’s graduates.  There is a huge ceremony for all graduates on May 28, but I’ll skipping that to hopefully live it up and “party” at our Fair Hill Tailgate Party!

This entry was posted in Friends, Family, & Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

