News Update

I started this blog to create a place where family and friends can go for news and updates of my life.  I have had a lot happen in the last week and just have not had the time to keep the world updated.  Here’s a little recap of what has happened recently.

Jan. 20th – I met with a psychologist for the first time.  It was actually a great experience.  Although, when we first started talking I really didn’t know what I was supposed to talk about.  Luckily, I have a great doctor and she did an awesome job getting to know me and my situation and ultimately guided the dialogue very smoothly.  I am continuing to meet with her every 2 weeks or so. 

While I was checking in for my psychologist appointment, another scheduler with the Genetic Counseling office overheard that I was there.  She popped her head over to tell me that my BRCA results were in and ask if I wanted to meet with my genetic counselor.  I was very conflicted with this proposition.  I was alone for my psychologist appointment – so if the BRCA results were bad, well I definitely wanted to have someone with me.  On the other hand, I just wanted to know the results.  I took a few deep breaths and made the decision to just go ahead and meet with the counselor since I was already there. 

So, when I was done with my psychologist, I walked over to meet with the genetics counselor.  We exchanged necessary pleasantries about how we were doing, the holidays, upcoming forecast, but I what I really wanted to do was get down to business.  Thankfully, as soon as we reached the conference room, she put down her folder and immediately told me I was negative for the BRCA 1 and 2 gene.  So, what does that mean?  Well, I did not get breast cancer because it was passed down from someone (anyone) in my family.  Also, by not having the genes, I am not at an elevated risk for recurrence or other types of cancer such as cervical or ovarian cancer.  Wow, what good news!  She proceeded to tell me that we just don’t know why I was singled out to get breast cancer.  God, I wish that someone figures this all out sometime in my life.  The counselor also mentioned additional genetic testing that can be done to access my likelhood of developing other types (i.e. bone cancer, small cell cancer, etc).  The test looks at my predisposition for Li­Fraumeni syndrome  which is linked to mutations of the p53 tumor suppressor gene which normally helps control cell growth.  Sorry to be all technical and stuff.  Anyway, the genetic counselor is checking to see if my insurance will cover this test.  I’m still up in the air as to whether or not I will move forward with getting this test done – I still have to learn more about all of this stuff.  But for now, I’m just really happy about not having the BRCA 1 & 2 genes. 

Jan. 20 – 24th:  An anxiety ridden few days while I waited for my Oncotype results.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

