Recovery

Given the outcome of my surgery, recovery was fairly easy.  When people called, emailed, or personally asked how I was feeling, my response was the same for the about the first week: I just felt like someone had punched me really hard in the chest and like I had cut myself shaving my armpit.  It was not a big deal.  In fact, I never even took one of those vicodins that I rushed to Happy Harry’s to get.  I just stuck with regular Tylenol for the first 2 days.  The hardest part was limiting my activity and telling myself to stop and ask for help.  For example, my bulky Kitchenaid mix (also my favorite kitchen appliance) sits on one counter, but I usually move it to the island when I’m using it.   Initially, I was really good about asking Bri to move it for me, but by Saturday (2 days after surgery), I was moving it myself – uh mostly because Bri wasn’t home and I was desperate to do something so I decided to bake!

I slept in the day after surgery, but when I did wake up I was determined to get out of the house!  My mom and I planned a short trip to Wal-Mart with a possible side trip to check out shoes at DSW.  Looking back, we probably should have went to DSW first and then tried to venture to Wal-Mart.  We had a short list for Wal-Mart and left the house by noon.  We did not return until after 3 PM!  And we live 5 minutes from Wal-Mart.  Needless to say, we did not make to DSW because Wal-Mart sure did wipe me out.   

Back home and it was time for a much-needed nap.  My body was just exhausted.  Then it was time for our “Pizza Party” – a recent Friday night ritual and again a good mood booster for me as I was doing something “normal”.  It was my parents’ first Pizza Party and I hope they had fun.  Bri made his crazy meat lovers pie: sausage, pepperoni, ham, sautéed onions, and ricotta.  I swear that one piece weighs 5 pounds and it most often needs to be eaten with a fork.  My pie was the usual: peppers and onions on one part and diced tomatoes on another. 

By 8 PM, we were all back on the couch and settled in to watch The Wizard of Oz.  I don’t think I made it past the “Follow the yellow brick road part.”  Exhaustion took over again.

This entry was posted in Lumpectomy Surgery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

