Blubana Muffins

In my quest to search for sugar-free yummy recipes, I came across one for sugar-free banana muffins.  The first time I made these, I followed the recipe completely.  The second and third times, I changed things up a bit.  All three times, the muffins came out surprisingly good!  I will say that the third try was the best. 

Original Recipe:

  • 3 large ripe bananas
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cup organic whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda & 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup melted butter

Mash bananas.

Add cinnamon and slightly beaten egg.

Add melted butter.

Sift dry ingredients together and add to above mixture.

Mix until moistened.

Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.

This makes one dozen muffins,

The first attempt was good, but I thought they could use a little more flavor.  So in my second batch I added a 4th banana, 1/2 tsp more of cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and about 1/4 cup ground flax seeds.  And the second batch was great.  But, in true Alexis fashion, I simply have trouble following recipes and always feel that they can be tweaked just a little.  For the third batch, I added the following:

  • 4th banana (again)
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseed
  • I halved the amount of butter the recipe called for, so I ended up using about 1/6 cup melted butter.
  • 1 TBS raw organic agave nectar

I think this one was the winner.  Bri has renamed these “Blubana Muffins.”

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blubana Muffins

  1. amyreinink says:

    Yum! These look so tasty! I’ll have to try them next time we have overripe ‘nanas in our fruit bowl.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

