Changes

To say that my life has changed and been turned upside down is an understatement.  There are so many things that are different today as compared to just a few months ago.  Some changes are obvious and forced and others are personal choices of change that I have made.  The one things I recently focused on was changing my diet (a bit). 

I have always taken my health for granted.  Growing up, I was rarely sick.  In the past 5 years or so, I really started to focus on maintaining my health through healthy eating habits and an exercise regimen.  I do not deny indulgences, but I just try to balance the bad with the good and keep everything in moderation. 

So, it may come as no surprise that I really dived in head first on researching ways to change my diet to fight cancer head on.  There is a lot of research out there and this is what caused me the most confusion and frustration.  I felt like for every article I read telling me to do/eat something, there was another research article refuting it.  I have mainly focused on sticking with the consistent facts and making subtle changes.  The 3 things that were repeated over and over were:  no sugar, eat organic (to eliminate chemicals), and drink green tea.  So what have I done?  Well, I’m slowly trying to change over to organic fruits and veggies.  I’ve also started with organic milk (no hormones), but I do not really drink much milk anyway.  With the exception of a few bites here or there, refined sugar has essentially been eliminated from my diet.  Realistically, there is no way I could consume the daily recommended amount of green tea, so my parents bought me green tea extract which I just add to my water. 

Since chemotherapy is part of my proposed treatment course, I am also just focusing on maintaining my health and boosting my immune system.  Chemo can really take a toll on the body.  So, I also started juicing my vegetables.  My parents were nice enough to give me their juicer and each morning I get up and religiously make myself a big glass of vegetable juice.  YUM!  Actually, it is not that bad.  My favorite combination so far is spinach, carrot, and apple juice.  I’ve also juiced beets, celery, pineapple cores, pears, radish, peppers, and cucumbers.  I intend to try some new combinations over the next few months.  The last 7 paragraphs or so of this article provide some insights and benefits of juicing: http://www.living-foods.com/articles/benefits.html 

My husband has been great about accepting all these changes.  Now, you will not find him sharing a glass of veggie juice with me, but he’s definitely supportive of my efforts.

This entry was posted in My Breast Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Let Me Know You Stopped By...

